



Awards, Prizes and Scholarships

Compiled by Giles BLACK¹ & Sarah EDWARDS²

¹Master of Planning Student, Lincoln University, Christchurch, New Zealand ²Department of Environmental Management, Lincoln University, Christchurch, New Zealand

Each year Lincoln University students and staff gain merit-based recognition. A number of students also receive Summer Scholarships, usually externally funded, to work on research projects under staff supervision during the summer vacation period. We record these awards in the earliest edition of LPR after they have been announced.

STUDENT AWARDS

The John Hayward Memorial Prize 2018 – Craig Friedel; 2019 – Shera Pahm

The John Hayward Memorial Prize was created after the death of John Hayward in 1993. John Hayward was the founder of the Centre for Resource Management at Lincoln, as well as the Master of Science (Resource Management) degree, a precursor of the Environmental Policy and Master of Management degree. This award is given to the most outstanding Master of Environmental Policy and Management student who has completed the requirements for the degree, and is based mainly on their academic performance in core subjects. In 2018, the recipient was Craig Friedel, who is currently a Senior Planner and Associate of Harrison Grierson. In 2019 the recipient was Shera Pahm, who is currently working in the Philippines for Environmental Science for Social Change as Area Manager for its Forest, Farm and Leadership in the Margins unit.

The Thomson Reuters Prize in Resource Management 2018 – Hannah Staines

The Thomson Reuters Prize in Resource Management is awarded to the highest performing first year Master of Planning student, and is based on academic performance in core subjects. Thomson Reuters are a leading provider of information and solutions to the legal, tax, accounting and business markets in New Zealand. Through their online and hard copies of the Resource Management Act and other relevant pieces of legislation they allow students to gain information and keep up to date with changes in resource management and planning law. The recipient of the 2018 award was Hannah Staines, who is currently a Planning Adviser at Nelson City Council.

The Lincoln University Planning School Award 2019 – Max Lichtenstein

The Lincoln University Planning School Award is funded by the Canterbury/Westland Branch of the New Zealand Planning Institute. It is awarded each year to the student member of the NZPI with the highest grade point average across their Level 3 papers who has completed their third year of their Bachelor degree at Lincoln and is continuing their tertiary study in an NZPI accredited planning degree at Lincoln University. Within six months of receiving the award, the recipient shall demonstrate a contribution to the NZPI, the Canterbury Westland Branch, Canterbury/Westland Emerging Planners or the planning profession generally. Max Lichtenstein was the awardee in 2019 and is studying towards a Bachelors of Environmental Policy and Planning (with Honours) degree at Lincoln.

Young Farmers Stock Judging 2018 – Melissa McMullan

The National Stock Judging Award is given by the New Zealand Young Farmers through its Stock Judging Competition, and is based on the ability of stock assessment in judging deer velvet, Friesian calves, sheep and wool. It is awarded each year to the winner of the sheep section of the National Stock Judging Competition in Invercargill to develop interest and skills in stock judgement of young people and this generation of farmers. The recipient of the 2018 award was Melissa McMullan, who is currently a Resource Management Planner at Mackenzie District Council.

Best Masters Thesis in Geography Award 2019 – Ivor Heijnen

The Best Masters Thesis in Geography Award is given by the New Zealand Geographical Society (NZGS) through its President's Awards, and recognises the best contribution to geographic knowledge in a Master's thesis. In 2019, the recipient was Ivor Heijnen for his thesis entitled 'From Place-Responsive to Place-Constructive Outdoor Education: A Case Study of the Port Hills, Christchurch, New Zealand'. The award citation noted that Ivor's exceptional thesis makes significant contributions nationally and internationally within the field of geographies of education. His research advances the application of place concepts in outdoor education and he has developed and implemented novel methodologies. Ivor was supervised by Emma Stewart and Stephen Espiner as part of a Master of Social Science in the Department of Tourism, Sport and Society.

STAFF AWARDS

Research Collaboration in Geography Award 2019 - Dr Mike McKay & Professor Harvey Perkins

The Research Collaboration in Geography Award is given by the New Zealand Geographical Society (NZGS) through its President's Awards, and is given to New Zealand-based geographic researchers who have contributed through team research projects over a number of years. In 2019, the recipients were Dr Mike McKay and Professor Harvey Perkins. The award citation noted that their collaboration began 12 years ago when Mike was a Masterate student at Lincoln University and has continued to flourish. Inclusivity has been a defining feature of their highly productive working relationship, which has yielded many research opportunities and outputs. As co-Principal Investigators for the National Science Challenge 'Building Better Homes, Towns and Cities' they foster a collaborative, multi-disciplinary and multiinstitutional research programme that is wellconnected to stakeholders, communities and end-users.

SUMMER SCHOLARSHIPS 2018-2019

Ollie Rutland-Sims: Oral Histories of the Selwyn/Waikirikiri River Supervisors: Dr Emma Stewart, Katie Nimmo, Dr Stephen Espiner Funded by the Faculty of Environment, Society and Design

Max Lichtenstein: Recreational Pig Hunting significance, motivations and activity Supervisor: Dr Geoff Kerr Funded by the Faculty of Environment, Society and Design

Sunil Tamang: Economic valuation of ecosystem services from urban waterways. Supervisors: Dr Geoff Kerr, Dr Ed Challies Funded by the Waterways Centre for Freshwater Management

Sara Hodgson: Evaluating visitor engagement

in National Parks: Developing tools for monitoring DOC's Interpretation Ranger

initiative

Supervisors: Dr Stephen Espiner, Dr Emma

Stewart

Funded by the Department of Conservation/ Faculty of Environment, Society and Design